8 Trigrams – from the “I Ching” to Qigong

What are the 8 Trigrams of Qi Gong?

  1. Throwing Away The Trash – uses the 6 Healing Sounds to release stuck emotions from the organs
  2. The Wave – massages the internal organs and loosens the spine to allow kundalini to pass through
  3. Dragon Whips Its Tail and filling the 3 Dan Tians
  4. Serving Teacups – puts us in a flow states, loosens shoulders, neck and back
  5. Rabbit Springs – massages the intestines for improve digestion and elimination
  6. Separating Heaven and Earth – wrings out the spleen and liver, purges worry and anxiety, boosts digestion, loosens spinal, shouldes, wrists
  7. Spiral Palm – bestows a sense of coordination, massages the internal organs while wringing out the meridians
  8. Dragon Ball – another flowing form for wrists and back that gently massages the internal organs

The Trigams of the I Ching

The Trigrams are symbols of the cycle of yin and yang energy present in all things. Each of the Eight Trigrams consists of three horizontal lines that represent either yin or yang energy. Yang energy is depicted as a continuous line and yin energy by a broken line. Each trigram is read from bottom to top.

The lowest line represents the earth; the center, humanity.  The top line, heaven.

“Heaven creates, develops, brings about fruition and consummation. ” [Ct1]
“What is great and originating, penetrating, advantageous, correct and firm.” [Lt2]
Meanings:  strength, creativity, ruling, originating, Yang, fathering.  

The circular chart illustrates the relationship of the Eight Trigrams, each of which has its own name (li, kun, dui, etc.), with the cardinal directions, seasons, times of day, and elements (water, fire, heaven, earth, etc.).

Eight Trigrams Chart

Each Trigram also corresponds to phenomena not listed on the diagram, such as members of the family, numbers, colors, parts of the body, and illnesses.


Baguazhang & Trigrams